Tom Brake MP, serving his constituency of Carshalton and Wallington

Tom Brake MP held off a close Tory challenge to earn his fifth term as MP for Carshalton and Wallington. The result bucked a national trend that saw the national party cruelly punished for its role as the minority party in the Tory-led coalition, 2010-2015. Tom held the constituency that he has represented since 1997 with 16,603 votes.


Lord Graham Tope

Graham has been co-chair of the Liberal Democrat Parliamentary Party Committee on Communities and Local Government (CLG) since it was established in 2010 and was previously Liberal Democrat CLG spokesperson in the Lords. He was created a Life Peer in 1994 and was Liberal Democrat spokesperson in the Lords on Education from 1994 to 1999.

In May 1974 Graham was amongst the first Liberals ever to be elected to Sutton London Borough Council, on which he lead the Liberal (later Liberal Democrat) Group for 25 years from 1974 to 1999. After stepping down as Council Leader in 1999, Graham became Executive Councillor for Community Safety, Leisure, Libraries, Arts & Heritage until May 2012. He remains a councillor for the Sutton Central ward.

In 2000 Graham was elected to the London Assembly, part of the then newly created Greater London Authority, on which he lead the Liberal Democrat Group until 2006. He was appointed to the then new Metropolitan Police Authority in 2000 and chaired its Finance Committee until 2008. He did not seek re-election to the London Assembly in 2008.


Sign in with Facebook, Twitter or Email.